Art Thief

Sketchbook Skool Bootkamp assignment number four required us to “steal”, or replicate, another artist’s style. This was a challenging assignment but I really enjoyed it & I hope to “steal” from other artists in the future.

After some deliberation, I decided to duplicate a sketch from Richard Piers Rayner who illustrated the graphic novel “Road to Perdition”. I’m usually not great at sketching cars so I’m really pleased with the result. I think my eyes went cross-eyed from all of the crosshatching though! I’m going to add more “Road to Perdition” sketches to this page when I have time.

Road to Perdition #1

Which artist’s style would you like to steal?

Materials used:

  • New sketchbook I got for Christmas from my mom 🙂 (Artist’s Loft brand 6in x 8in)
  • Faber-Castell PITT artist pens (XS & S)
  • LYRA graphite pencils
5 thoughts on “Art Thief

  1. I love this! I agree-cars are difficult for me as well. If I were to steal an artist’s style, call me mainstream, but I’d probably want to learn Da Vinci’s techniques, just because he was a master of many artistic elements! Anyways,great job on this-I can hardly tell the difference!

  2. Lovely sketch! and what a great assignment! I love trying out other artist’s styles. It’s such a great exercise to help develop a personal style. I would love to try working more in the style of Jenny Saville.

Leave a Reply

