Back in the Swing of Things

The past few months have been busy to say the least! We’ve moved into a new house, had a wonderful vacation in Jamaica, & enjoyed a nice Thanksgiving holiday with our family. Needless to say, in the midst of all of that I missed the entire third semester of Sketchbook Skool. It feels great to be working in my sketchbook again! Here’s my first assignment, an illustrated recipe.

Illustrated recipe

How do you maintain your creative hobbies when life gets hectic?

3 thoughts on “Back in the Swing of Things

  1. I try to do something creative everyday even if it is only for 15 minutes, but if I can’t manage even that, I don’t worry too much about it because I also schedule 1 day a week that I spend in my studio. Everyone I know, knows what that day is and they try not to disturb me or ask me to do anything for them on that day. If it is scheduled, I don’t feel guilty taking time to do what I love instead of what I have to do such as housework, errands, work for my job etc. And that one day per week is so good for my mental health!

    • Thanks for sharing those great tips Arja! I like the idea of having an official art day during the week in case it doesn’t fit in on the other days. The mention of your studio also has me wondering if I should try to create a more dedicated space for sketching. I’m usually just sketching in random places around the house. I have a craft room in my house which I usually just use for sewing, etc but maybe I could work on making it a little more sketch-friendly. You’ve given me a lot to think about. I also just started following your blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

