Sketchbook Skool: Kourse 1.1 Week #3

Recap of week #3:

  • Teacher: Prashant Miranda
  • Theme: Sketchbook keeping is a way of life. Sketchbooks are great memory keepers. The 3 P’s: Passion, Perseverance, & Practice. How to use watercolor paint effectively.
  • Homework: Draw an image to capture the essence of today. Go outside and make a watercolor painting of the sky using the wash techniques we learned.
  • My reaction: This was an awesome week in Sketchbook Skool! Prashant is from India and all of his videos were filmed there. I was so intrigued by the scenery and the culture in his videos. Prashant is so charismatic, in fact his personality made such a big impact on the Sketchbook Skool students that everyone was sketching portraits of him! His philosophy of using sketchbooks as memory keepers to document your life really resonated with me because that is my main goal for sketchbook keeping. I was so inspired by the fact that Prashant has kept sketchbooks for over 20 years! I sincerely hope that I can make sketchbook keeping a way of life for many years to come! I also learned a lot about basic watercolor techniques from him that week (wet on wet vs wet on dry washes, how to push the pool of water/paint with your brush across the page, etc). As a parting gift he made a video of himself playing the guitar and singing “The Paintbox” by The Incredible String Band for us!

My sketches from week #3:

IMG_0923

Left: I captured the essence of the day by creating eight mini sketches throughout the day. Right: I practiced some watercolor washes and added the sketch of the Staas coaster.

IMG_0977

I sketched and painted my view of the sunset in my backyard on Easter Sunday.

How long have you been a sketchbook keeper? What are your goals for keeping a sketchbook? How do you use your sketchbook to capture memories? I’d love to read your thoughts, please share in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Sketchbook Skool: Kourse 1.1 Week #3

  1. Hi Jamie,
    Congratulations on your new blog! I admire your bravery to work through a difficult time in your life by making time for yourself and placing your trust in God. I’m loving the work you are doing in your sketchbook! The Easter Sunday sky is beautiful with the change from the yellows to the blue. And your colored pencil rendition of the oranges look so real! Keep on drawing!

Leave a Reply

